Library: Careers and Job Search: Home

Careers & job searching

Careers & job search resources

This guide contains books, e-books, and links to websites to help you pursue your career goals. Use the blue tabs to evaluate possible career paths, search and apply for jobs, and succeed in the workplace.

If you need any assistance using this guide or locating other materials, please feel free to call or e-mail a librarian or visit the William H. Wiggs Library. For individual career counseling, students may contact a JSCC counselor.

Spartan Skills Career Book Collection

This collection is located in the back of the general collection near the windows. It is comprised of titles focusing on careers and vocational guidance including resume writing, career overviews, licensing exams and more. All books can be checked out for two weeks, and may be renewed.

Books at JSCC

Work Reimagined: Uncover Your Calling – Leider, R.
Call number: HF 5381 .L35153 2015
ISBN: 9781626565586
Publication Date: 2015-11-02
Mission Transition – Matthew J. Louis
Call number: UB 357 .L59 2019
ISBN: 9781400214754
The Bliss List: Discover What Truly Makes You Happy - Then Land Your Dream Job – Hansen, J.
Call number: HF 5382.7 .H36 2010
ISBN: 9781621450924
Publication Date: 2013-05-16
Getting Back to Work: Everything You Need to Bounce Back and Get a Job after a Layoff – Rolie, L.
Call number: HF 5382.7 .R65 2010
ISBN: 9780071638678
Publication Date: 2009-07-22
Get a Great Job When You Don't Have a Job – Stein, M.
Call number: HF 5382.7 .S74 2010
ISBN: 0071637737
Publication Date: 2009-09-22
What Color Is Your Parachute?: A Practical Manual for Job-Hunters and Career-Changers – Bolles, R.
Call number: HF 5383 .B56 2014
ISBN: 9781607745563
Publication Date: 2014-08-12
The Ultimate Job Search Guide – Martin Yate
Call number: HF 5549.5 .I6 Y37 2017
ISBN: 9781507205358
Publication Date: 2017-12-05
Write and Speak Like a Professional in 20 Minutes a Day – Salpeter, M.
Call number: HF 5718 .S255 2016
ISBN: 9781611030556
Publication Date: 2016-07-07
The Community College Career Track – Snyder, T.
Call number: LB 2328 .S61 2012
ISBN: 9781118271698
Publication Date: 2012-09-25
10 Things Employers Want You to Learn in College: The Skills You Need to Succeed – Coplin, W.
Call number: LC 1037.5 .C68 2012
ISBN: 9781607741459
Publication Date: 2012-07-31

Contact a librarian

E-mail us
Call (910) 275-6330
Text (910) 319-9016
Message @jscclib on Facebook (opens a new window)
Chat for after-hours help

Featured databases

Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information to assist in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career.
Computer Skills Center This link opens in a new window
Resources geared to both basic and advanced skills, including Internet searching, using popular programs for word processing, creating spreadsheets and databases, implementing design, and more.
Career Preparation This link opens in a new window
Provides information about specific occupations, helps you to build your workplace skills and includes resources to prepare for professional licensing exams.