Skip to main content
Skip to guide navigation
Read full books online or download them to your computer or mobile device – at no charge! This guide provides information on e-books and digital audiobooks available via the library.
- Below, you'll find links to all e-book databases.
- To choose a collection based on your needs or interests, try the Best Bets page in this guide.
- Use the tabs at the top to find out more about a specific database, including help docs or handouts where available.
Questions? Contact us or visit us in the library.
All about e-books
E-book collections from your library
ebrary Academic and Public Library Complete
Over 150,000 e-books – primarily books from university presses and textbooks, with some popular nonfiction titles. Great for research projects.
Home Grown eBook Collection
Over 1,200 fiction and nonfiction e-books from North Carolina publishers. Includes popular fiction, NC history, cookbooks, and travel and wilderness guides, plus an early childhood education collection.
A huge and growing collection of classic fiction and nonfiction titles, plus a variety of adult and children's books donated by libraries across the country. Features an online reading interface that simulates a hard-copy book (web-based, no extra software required).
RBdigital (formerly OneClickdigital)
Over 2,000 audiobooks to download to a computer, MP3 player, or other device. A mix of popular and classic fiction, with a smaller selection of nonfiction titles, including some from Pimsleur's language-learning series. Plus, a collection of contemporary YA e-books.
Reference books from a variety of publishers
Specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries. Especially useful to find background information for history and literature classes.
eBooks on EBSCOhost
Over 25,000 reference and academic titles in all subject areas.
Books in criminal justice, language-learning, business, history, consumer health, etc. About 380 titles (160 available for download; remainder are only online).
Literary biography and analysis of individual authors or works, general history titles (such as The Civil Rights Movement and Daily Life in the Mongol Empire), and American slave narratives. About 200 titles, online only (books cannot be downloaded).
Other e-book sources
Public domain (out-of-copyright) books are widely available online at no charge. Try these sites:
Some academic publishers provide open-access titles:
Did you know?
Have a computer or mobile device? You can use e-books! No special e-reader is required for any of the books available from the library. Even if you don't have reliable Internet access, you can read books you've already downloaded to your device. Just ask us if you need help getting started.
Advantages of e-books
Online? Log on and start reading right away, from anywhere
Already carrying a mobile device or laptop with you? No added weight!
Search for your keywords, highlight text, and mark pages in books
No waiting for ILL delivery
No risk of losing or damaging, and no overdue fines!
More help from NC LIVE
NC LIVE: Ebooks Help
Instructions, video tutorials, and FAQs about accessing e-books, including device-specific help.
All websites, articles, images, videos, etc., linked on this site are provided for informational purposes only. External content is not maintained by James Sprunt Community College, nor does it represent the views of the College or its employees. Please notify the library staff if you have concerns about linked content. Students are expected to evaluate all web and print resources and to determine their appropriate academic uses. A hyperlink to a resource or article from these LibGuides does not constitute an endorsement of that resource or article by the library.