Skip to main content
LibGuides Home | James Sprunt Community College | William H. Wiggs Library | Library FAQ | Moodle | Student E-mail

Workshops

Attend a free workshop at the William H. Wiggs Library to discover new resources or improve your academic skills. Find the monthly calendar here.

Workshops

Every week, the library offers free workshops open to all students, staff, and faculty. There's no sign-up required, just come to the library at or before the scheduled start time. Learn about print and online resources, discover new research strategies, and hone your academic skills.

This month's calendar

The workshop schedule changes every month. Click on a session to find out more about it.

* Dates and times on the monthly flyer are subject to change. Please view this calendar or contact the library to check the latest schedule information.

This month's sessions for screen readers:

Catalog workshop: Learn to find books, DVDs, and books on CD in the library, plus how to renew your materials online. 20 minutes.

Article databases workshop: Learn more about article databases from NC LIVE to get high-quality articles online. Need scholarly articles for class? Want to know how to read that news article that's hidden behind a paywall? Come to this session. 25 minutes.

Plagiarism workshop: Learn how to use outside sources appropriately, including quoting and paraphrasing, plus when you need to cite. 30 minutes.

Agenda for screen readers

  • The college will be closed on Monday, September 7, for Labor Day.
  • Wednesday, September 2, at 5:00 p.m.: Library Catalog workshop
  • Thursday, September 3, at 9:30 a.m.: Catalog workshop
  • Wednesday, September 9, at 4:45 p.m.: Databases workshop
  • Monday, September 14, at 12:30 p.m.: Catalog workshop
  • Monday, September 21, at 3 p.m.: Databases workshop
  • Wednesday, September 23, at 4:45 p.m.: Plagiarism workshop
  • Thursday, September 24, at 9:30 a.m.: Plagiarism workshop
  • Monday, September 28, at 12:30 p.m.: Plagiarism workshop

If you would like to be notified of new workshops, please e-mail the library staff to that effect or make your request by phone (910-296-2519) or in person.

Operating hours: The library is open from 8 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. Monday through Thursday, and from 8 a.m. to noon on Fridays.

This month's sessions for screen readers:

Catalog workshop: Learn to find books, DVDs, and books on CD in the library, plus how to renew your materials online. 20 minutes.

Article databases workshop: Learn more about article databases from NC LIVE to get high-quality articles online. Need scholarly articles for class? Want to know how to read that news article that's hidden behind a paywall? Come to this session. 25 minutes.

Plagiarism workshop: Learn how to use outside sources appropriately, including quoting and paraphrasing, plus when you need to cite. 30 minutes.

Agenda for screen readers

  • The college will be closed on Monday, September 7, for Labor Day.
  • Wednesday, September 2, at 5:00 p.m.: Library Catalog workshop
  • Thursday, September 3, at 9:30 a.m.: Catalog workshop
  • Wednesday, September 9, at 4:45 p.m.: Databases workshop
  • Monday, September 14, at 12:30 p.m.: Catalog workshop
  • Monday, September 21, at 3 p.m.: Databases workshop
  • Wednesday, September 23, at 4:45 p.m.: Plagiarism workshop
  • Thursday, September 24, at 9:30 a.m.: Plagiarism workshop
  • Monday, September 28, at 12:30 p.m.: Plagiarism workshop

If you would like to be notified of new workshops, please e-mail the library staff to that effect or make your request by phone (910-296-2519) or in person.

Operating hours: The library is open from 8 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. Monday through Thursday, and from 8 a.m. to noon on Fridays.

Print-friendly calendars

Show links to download Previous calendars

Faculty

To schedule an orientation or research workshop tailored to your class, please contact Christine Vasica at (910) 296-2475 or cvasica@jamessprunt.edu at least one week in advance. You may also request a presentation in your classroom.

All websites, articles, images, videos, etc., linked on this site are provided for informational purposes only. External content is not maintained by James Sprunt Community College, nor does it represent the views of the College or its employees. Please notify the library staff if you find objectionable content linked in these LibGuides. Students are expected to evaluate all web and print resources and to determine their appropriate academic uses. A hyperlink to a resource or article from these LibGuides does not constitute an endorsement of that resource or article by the library.

James Sprunt Community College | P.O. Box 398 | 133 James Sprunt Drive | Kenansville, NC 28349 | (910) 296-2400

Do you have any suggestions or comments about this website?

Fill out a feedback form to Let us know what you think.