Skip to main content Skip to guide navigation
Library Home | Classic Library Catalog | Databases A-Z | NC LIVE | Moodle | Student E-mail | James Sprunt Community College

Article Citation Examples

Learn about plagiarism and how to avoid it. Find resources to help you create source citations, plus see examples to get started with citing books and journal articles.

Basic citation examples

This page provides examples of MLA-, Chicago-, and APA-style citations for a journal article retrieved from a subscription database.

Information not highlighted in the image below – namely, the issue number, and accession number – may be found in the article's record in the database. (Note: access to Literary Reference Center Plus is no longer provided by NC LIVE, but information on the example article is available from the journal publisher.)

Journal article from library database

First page and access to article provided by Literary Reference Center Plus. (This database no longer available through NC LIVE – try Literature Resource Center for comparable content.)

Basic journal article citations

Citations of example article

MLA: Works Cited entry

Lastname, Firstname. "Article Title." Journal Title vol. #, [issue] no. #, year, pages. Database, doi:000000/0000000000.

Renfroe, Alicia Mischa. "Rights and Justice in Edith Wharton's The Reef." Women's Studies vol. 39, no. 3, 2010, pp. 238-261. Literary Reference Center Plus, doi:10.1080/00497871003595794.

MLA: in-text citations

(Lastname pages)

(Renfroe 251-52)

If the author's name is in the signal phrase or the source you're referring to is otherwise clearly indicated in the body text, include only the page number/s in the parenthetical citation.

Chicago: Bibliography entry

Lastname, Firstname. "Article Title." Journal Title, volume, no. issue (year): pages. Database (accession number).

Renfroe, Alicia Mischa. "Rights and Justice in Edith Wharton's The Reef." Women's Studies 39, no. 3 (2010): 238-261. Literary Reference Center Plus (48643829).

Chicago: footnotes

#. Firstname Lastname, "Article Title," Journal Title volume, no. issue (year): pages, Database (accession number).

2. Alicia Mischa Renfroe, "Rights and Justice in Edith Wharton's The Reef," Women's Studies 39, no. 3 (2010): 242, Literary Reference Center Plus (48643829).

5. Renfroe, "Rights and Justice," 248.

6. Ibid., 251-52.

APA: References entry

Lastname, F. I. (year). Article title. Journal Title, volume, pages. doi:000000/0000000000

Renfroe, A. M. (2010). Rights and justice in Edith Wharton's The reef. Women's Studies, 39, 238-261. doi:10.1080/00497871003595794

APA: in-text citations

(Lastname, year, p. pages)

(Renfroe, 2010, p. 242)

If the author's name is in the signal phrase, place the year in parentheses immediately after it, then include only "p." and the page number in the final parenthetical citation (use "pp." for multiple pages).

Renfroe (2010) argues … (pp. 251-52).

All websites, articles, images, videos, etc., linked on this site are provided for informational purposes only. External content is not maintained by James Sprunt Community College, nor does it represent the views of the College or its employees. Please notify the library staff if you have concerns about linked content. Students are expected to evaluate all web and print resources and to determine their appropriate academic uses. A hyperlink to a resource or article from these LibGuides does not constitute an endorsement of that resource or article by the library.

Do you have any suggestions or comments about this website?

Fill out a feedback form to Let us know what you think.

Contact Us | Follow Us on Facebook (opens a new window) | Privacy Statement

James Sprunt Community College, P.O. Box 398, 133 James Sprunt Drive, Kenansville, NC 28349 | (910) 296-2400