Library: BIO 111: Study Guides and Research

Search for sources

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window

Remember to check the box for Full Text. (If the article text is not displayed below the abstract, look for a link to "Full text - PDF.")

Sample searches:
(rainfall or precipitation) and "north carolina"
bacteria and (home or indoor)
plants and metabo*
[metabo* will find metabolism, metabolic, metabolize, etc.]

Online resources

NC LIVE Video Collection: Science
Streaming videos from PBS include documentaries on animal behavior, the human brain, evolution, renewable energy, and more.
Science Fair Project Background Research Plan
Guide to identifying needed background research. See more tips on conceiving and conducting experiments in the Science Fair Project Guide. From Science Buddies.
Khan Academy: Biology
Video lectures breaking down specific topics in biology.
Scitable
Basic, intermediate, and advanced articles on key topics in cell biology, ecology, and genetics. From Nature Education.
PLANTS Database
Reference guide including plant names and classifications, distribution maps, photographs, endangered status, and other information. From the U.S. Dept. of Agriculture.
Ecosystems
Reports and ongoing research on U.S. ecosystems and natural resources, including environmental effects on human health. From U.S. Geological Survey
Conservation International: Biodiversity Hotspots
Information on the most diverse and threatened habitats in the world.
Data, Statistics, Reports, and Maps (NC)
North Carolina-specific environmental information. From the NC Dept. of Environment and Natural Resources.
Understanding Evolution: Evolution 101
Introduction to the "patterns and mechanisms of evolution." From the UC Museum of Paleontology and the NCSE.
National Geographic: Environment
Videos, images, and news from around the world.

Image databases

Find images for your presentation. (Be sure to include citations!)

Science class (photo)

Photographic print (1899?) of high school students using microscopes from Library of Congress, Prints & Photographs Division, Johnston (Frances Benjamin) Collection, LC-USZ62-62905

Writing

Writing for Specific Fields: Sciences
From the Writing Center at UNC: using precise, clear, and objective language.

NSF news

Latest biology news from the National Science Foundation.

Study guides at JSCC

Schaum's Easy Outlines: Biology – Fried, G.
Call number: QH 315.5 .F73 2011
ISBN: 0071746544
Publication Date: 2010-09-23
Easy Biology Step-by-Step – Vivion, N.
Call number: QH 308.7 .V59 2012
ISBN: 9780071767798
Publication Date: 2012-04-25
The Cell: A Very Short Introduction – Allen, T.
Call number: QH 582.5 .A45 2011
ISBN: 9780199578757
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
Microbiology: Instant Notes – Baker, S.
Call number: QR 41.2 .B34 2011
ISBN: 0415607701
Publication Date: 2011-04-20
Biology Demystified – Layman, D.
Call number: QH 309 .L38 2003
ISBN: 0071410406
Publication Date: 2003-06-26