Skip to main content Skip to guide navigation

Search

Fall 2023 topics

Course research guide for ENG 111, Writing and Inquiry

Databases

The topics below have been culled primarily from CQ Researcher and Opposing Viewpoints databases.

CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Reports and opinion pieces on current political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and economics.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of today's current events and issues from all sides.
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of a wide range of topics to help you start your research. Content includes documents from books, magazines, journals, newspapers, photographs, transcripts, and videos.

Topic List

Topic List
Should a school ban speakers who disagree with its core values?	Are robots a better choice than humans to explore Mars and other deep-space destinations?	Will increased privatization improve access to safe drinking water?	Will the energy crisis sparked by the Ukraine conflict hasten the global transition to renewable sources?	Should esports be in the Olympics?
Should some police functions be handled by others?	Do housing first programs work?	Does pay transparency benefit employees and employers?	Should U.S. corporations take a stand on political issues?	Should government make it easier for businesses to employ children?
Should taxpayer dollars go to private schools?	Should governments enact fair workweek laws to reduce worker stress?	Should psychologists be allowed to prescribe medication for mental health problems?	Should the government discourage corporate investors from buying single-family homes?	Should cryptocurrencies be more strongly regulated to prevent ransomware attacks?
Ransomware Attacks: Can online extortion be reduced?	Food Security: Can the global decline be reversed?	Concert Safety: Would government regulation make events less dangerous?	Hybrid Work: Will remote work forever alter the workplace?	Global Surveillance: Do expanded surveillance capabilities undermine civil liberties?
Artificial Intelligence and Intellectual Property: Does generative AI violate copyright law?	The Future of Cryptocurrency: Can the industry overcome recent turmoil?	Dark Money: Are U.S. politics unduly influenced by secret donors?	Fake Online Reviews: Can their growth be curbed?	Medical Debt in America: Should the government cancel what people owe?
Online Learning: Will it continue to expand post-COVID?	K-pop: Can it sustain its global following?	Cyberwarfare: Can the U.S. and other democracies develop an effective defense?	Loneliness Epidemic: Can it be substantially abated?	Global Vaccine Inequity: Can international health systems tackle the problem?
Political Violence: Is U.S. democracy endangered by domestic extremists?	Deaths of Despair: Why are so many Americans without college degrees dying prematurely?	Reversing Extinction: Should we bring lost species back to life?	Does Easy Access to Guns at Home Contributes to America's Youth Suicide Problem?	Obesity in America: Can the increase in its prevalence be reversed?
Wrongful Convictions: Can the U.S. reduce the number of people falsely imprisoned?	Social Influencers: Can they continue to shape American culture?	Redistricting Battles: Can partisan gerrymandering be reformed?	Misinformation and the Media: Can legitimate news outlets regain trust in the “fake news” era?	Energy Warfare: Has the Ukraine conflict permanently altered global oil and gas markets?
Immigration Crisis: Can the border crisis be fixed?	International Relations: Did Russia’s invasion of Ukraine make the world more dangerous?	Inflation: Can it be tamed by federal policymakers?	Can sanctions prevent Iran from developing nuclear weapons?	Compensating College Athletes: Should players profit from the use of their names and images?
Should violent passengers be put on a do-not-fly list?	Should the government ban PFAS?	Can African nations advance a unified strategy for effective development on the continent?	Should Congress pass new federal data privacy laws to govern telemedicine?	Does K-pop rely too heavily on cultural appropriation?

Last Updated: Oct 17, 2023 4:22 PM
Print page

Subjects: Courses, English

Tags: english, writing

All websites, articles, images, videos, etc., linked on this site are provided for informational purposes only. External content is not maintained by James Sprunt Community College, nor does it represent the views of the College or its employees. Please notify the library staff if you have concerns about linked content. Students are expected to evaluate all web and print resources and to determine their appropriate academic uses. A hyperlink to a resource or article from these LibGuides does not constitute an endorsement of that resource or article by the library.

Do you have any suggestions or comments about this website?

Fill out a feedback form to Let us know what you think.

Contact Us | Follow Us on Facebook (opens a new window) | Privacy Statement

James Sprunt Community College, P.O. Box 398, 133 James Sprunt Drive, Kenansville, NC 28349 | (910) 296-2400