Library: Data and Statistics: Economy and Employment

Economy & policy

U.S. Department of the Treasury: Data and Chart Center
Interest rates, economic growth, and fiscal policy data.
Congressional Budget Office (CBO)
Deficit, revenue, and spending estimates and projections.
Bureau of Economic Analysis (U.S. Dept. of Commerce)
National, international, regional, and industry-level data and reports, including GDP, corporate profits, personal income, and international trade.
Census.gov: Federal, State, & Local Governments
Federal, state, and local government finances, taxation, employment, and pensions.
Tax Policy Center: Tax Facts
Current and historical U.S. tax rates and statistics on personal income, savings, and corporate returns.
Economic Policy Institute (EPI)
U.S. fiscal policy analysis from liberal think tank.
Federal Budget in Pictures
U.S. fiscal policy analysis from conservative think tank.
NC Office of State Budget and Management
Budgets of NC state agencies, tax guides, unemployment rate, and more.
The World Bank: Open Data Catalog
International financial policy, GDP, debt, and other data.
World Trade Statistical Review 2019
International trade, tariff, and infrastructure data.
OECD: Statistics Directorate
International financial, trade, and labor statistics for member states.

Business & industry

ABI/INFORM Complete
Company and industry reports, including size, financial, and trend data.
Business Market Research Collection
Size and financial data for over 40,000 companies.

NC Agricultural Statistics
State- and county-level data on production of and revenues from crops and livestock.

Database for newspaper and magazine articles

ProQuest Central
Includes coverage of the New York Times (onlne) 03/24/2015 to present; Wall Street Journal (Eastern edition) 01/02/1984 to present; Financial Times (London) 05/31/1996 to 1 month ago; the Economist 09/29/2008 to present; Investor's Business Daily 01/02/1998 to present.

Search tips:

Login to the database with either your library barcode number (the long number on the back of your ID card) or use your JSCC email and password.

Click on the publications link at the top of the database search page. Look for the link to the source that you want to search (for example, Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition; New York, N.Y.). Click on the link, and then you can enter your search terms to search within the publication.

Employment, labor, & poverty

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
Employment, productivity, pay, workplace injuries, and inflation data.
National Poverty Center: Poverty Facts
Summary of Census findings on U.S. poverty.
The State of Working America
U.S. employment, wage, and inequality data and analysis. From the EPI.
NCWorks Labor Market Analysis
Workforce, industry, and occupational information from the NC Department of Commerce.
International Labour Organization: Statistics
Links to statistical reports and databases on labor. From the UN.
The World Bank: Poverty Data
International poverty and income distribution data, maps, and trends.

Search

Economy and Employment

Economy & policy

Business & industry

Database for newspaper and magazine articles

Employment, labor, & poverty

U.S. economic indicators