Skip to main content
Skip to guide navigation
Sources for a research assignment
- Articles from newspapers and magazines are good for general (not academic) information, especially about current events, political topics, and social issues. If you're researching events in the past, it may also help to see what journalists reported about them at the time.
Search for newspaper & magazine articles:
- Articles from scholarly journals (or academic journals) are detailed research reports written by experts in a specific field. Typically, your instructor will tell you if you're required to use these for an assignment.
Search for scholarly articles:
- Books can be useful when you want a lot of information about a topic, or when you want to consult an original, notable work. Books called anthologies collect essays and scholarly articles from several different authors, and you may need just one of the pieces included. Some books, like textbooks, aim to provide introductions to or overviews of complex topics for non-experts.
Search for e-books:
Includes scholarly books on all subjects, introductory texts (e.g., Very Short Introduction series), and general nonfiction titles. Books can be downloaded or read online.
Home Grown eBook Collection
Includes world, U.S., and North Carolina history books, plus some social science titles. Books can be downloaded (only to tablets) or read online.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Includes reference and academic books on all subjects. Books can be downloaded or read online; downloading (requires setting up a free account) is recommended.
Pro/con arguments about a controversial issue
- There are databases specifically designed to help students understand controversial political and social issues. They'll give you an overview of the issue, plus offer arguments from opposing sides.
Browse or search by issue:
Background information about a topic
- Encyclopedias are a good place to start researching an unfamiliar topic or to find biographical information about people.
Look up a topic:
Best for general research in a variety of disciplines: history, political science, psychology, biology, music, literature, and more.
Best for biographical info, medical topics, and 20th-century U.S. history.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Best for researching nursing/medicine, religion, and art history.
Practice tests & study help
- Check out documentary videos to learn more about a topic, training videos to build your skills, interviews, performances, and more. You may also find clips to show when presenting to a class.
Films on Demand
Over 30,000 videos on all topics from a range of highly-respected U.S. and international producers. Highlights include HBO documentaries, BBC nature documentaries, and plays and other artistic performances. Offers some non-English videos.
NC LIVE Video Collection
Selected PBS features and series on history, arts, and sciences. Includes biographies from American Experience series and Ken Burns documentaries.
Books to read for pleasure
Varied collection of fiction (including most classics as well as many pre-2000 children's, teen, and adult titles) and nonfiction. Books can be downloaded or read online (in Open Library's reader that nearly reproduces the experience of reading a print book).
Offers popular nonfiction books on politics and society, plus selected fiction (including classics from world literature).
Home Grown eBook Collection
Classic and selected modern fiction, plus NC history and culture titles.
Fiction and nonfiction audiobooks to download to a computer, smartphone, or other device.
All websites, articles, images, videos, etc., linked on this site are provided for informational purposes only. External content is not maintained by James Sprunt Community College, nor does it represent the views of the College or its employees. Please notify the library staff if you have concerns about linked content. Students are expected to evaluate all web and print resources and to determine their appropriate academic uses. A hyperlink to a resource or article from these LibGuides does not constitute an endorsement of that resource or article by the library.