Library Home |
Library Catalog Plus |
Databases A-Z |
NC LIVE |
Moodle |
Student E-mail |
James Sprunt Community College
To integrate content from the Library's databases into Moodle, please follow these steps below.
Please be sure to add this prefix to your links so that students can access the content from off campus. Here is an example of what your link should look like when posted:
https://login.proxy092.nclive.org/login?url=https://video.alexanderstreet.com/watch/great-speeches-volume-32?account_id=14003&usage_group_id=97259
Persistent URLs are internet addresses that are stable. They are provided by library-subscribed databases for consistent access to individual full-text articles when links are needed, (e.g. in Moodle). These are subscription databases with licensing agreements, and are not freely available on the Web, Proper linking using these persistent URLs is also important for copyright purposes.
Here are the steps to create a persistent URL for articles contained in the following databases:
Look for the share button at the bottom of the video that you want to post. (This button looks like a "less than" sign with three dots).
Choose either copy embed code or copy permalink.
Add https://login.proxy092.nclive.org/login?url= to the beginning of the permalink URL.
Look for the "Document URL" at the bottom of an article or document.
Add https://login.proxy092.nclive.org/login?url= to the beginning of this URL.
Click on the article title.
In the "Tools" section of the page on the right-hand side, click on "Permalink."
The Permalink (persistent URL) will then display above the article title. Note that the full persistent URL will exceed the space provided for it in the display box.
Add https://login.proxy092.nclive.org/login?url= to the beginning of this URL.
[Note: This URL goes to a citation/abstract page. From there, click on the PDF or "Linked full text" icon to access the article. Direct links to PDFs are not available.]
Click on the article title.
Click on the "Get Link" button (in the Tools box on the right)
Copy and paste the URL provided under “Get Link”,
Add https://login.proxy092.nclive.org/login?url= to the beginning of this URL
Click on any one of these links for an article: Article Title, Citation/Abstract, Full text (but not the PDF full text). [Note: for any ProQuest Historical Newspaper, click on "Citation/Abstract" link only.]
Scroll down to bottom of the page to the "Indexing (details)" section.
Locate "Document URL", under details tab
Copy and paste the URL provided.
Add https://login.proxy092.nclive.org/login?url= to the beginning of this URL.
In most databases, you can use a built-in tool to e-mail the item link to yourself as well.
This page highlights recommended resources from the JSCC Library. Please see the A-Z Databases page for a full list of databases. Library staff are happy to help you discover great open web resources as well (some of which are included in course and subject guides).
For information about downloadable e-books, please visit our E-books LibGuide- opens in new window.
All resources from NC LIVE and other providers are available both on- and off-campus, 24 hours a day.
On campus
If you're using the JSCC network or Wi-Fi, you're automatically authenticated – no log-in required.
Off campus
When opening a resource, you'll be prompted to log into the library's proxy server. There are two authentication options:
The Spartan Search will help you locate information from almost all types of library resources including books, e-books, periodical articles, videos and reference guides.
Depending on the source of your link, you might see an intermediate page from NC LIVE that asks you to choose your library. Select "James Sprunt Community College" from the dropdown menu, then "Next" to proceed to the proxy server login.
Spartan Skills Resources
Please contact the library or visit our online interlibrary loan form for titles that are not available through the JSCC Library's collection
"I'm seeing an error message or prompt to log into database."
If you land on an error message or if you're asked to log into ProQuest, Films on Demand, or another database – rather than the library's proxy server – there's probably a problem with your link. For reliable access on- and off-campus, the URL must include a proxy prefix, such as https://login.proxy092.nclive.org/login?url= or http://nclive.org/cgi-bin/nclsm?url=. See the information under persistent URLs for more detail.
"A link works for me, but not my students."
Sometimes non-proxied links work fine on campus because the database provider recognizes JSCC's IP addresses. When your students try to get to the same content at home, though, they'll have a problem. The provider needs that proxy prefix to get the user to the right authentication page. See the section about persistent URLs.
"I can't log in with my e-mail address."
First, please check that you're entering your full address – including @jamessprunt.edu (or @mail.jamessprunt.edu) – and current password. If everything is correct and you continue to have problems, please notify the library staff. (If possible, take a full-screen screenshot to help us diagnose your problem.) You can also use your library card number for access, but we would still like to know if there's a problem with the server.
"I don't have a JSCC email address," or "my students don't have a JSCC e-mail address."
DECHS faculty and students whose programs don't include a JSCC e-mail address should sign up for a library card.
Please contact the library staff to arrange a workshop or request instructional materials.
The chat box appears during these hours:
| Day | Hours open |
|---|---|
| Monday – Friday | 12:00 a.m. - 11:59 p.m.. . |
| Saturday – Sunday | 8:00 a.m. - 11:59 p.m. |
* Not available on federal holidays
Play streaming videos from NC LIVE in your classes or add links to Moodle for students to watch as homework. Most have captions and transcripts – use the advanced search to see only those accessible videos. You may browse by subject, search for keywords, or contact a librarian for help locating videos.
All websites, articles, images, videos, etc., linked on this site are provided for informational purposes only. External content is not maintained by James Sprunt Community College, nor does it represent the views of the College or its employees. Please notify the library staff if you have concerns about linked content. Students are expected to evaluate all web and print resources and to determine their appropriate academic uses. A hyperlink to a resource or article from these LibGuides does not constitute an endorsement of that resource or article by the library.
Do you have any suggestions or comments about this website?
Contact Us | Follow Us on Facebook (opens a new window) | Privacy Statement
James Sprunt Community College, P.O. Box 398, 133 James Sprunt Drive, Kenansville, NC 28349 | (910) 296-2400