Skip to main content Skip to guide navigation
Library Home | Classic Library Catalog | Databases A-Z | NC LIVE | Moodle | Student E-mail | James Sprunt Community College

Find Articles

Library and online resources for nursing and allied health students.

NC LIVE

NC LIVE is your 24/7 online library, providing you with free access to journals, magazines, and newspapers, plus e-books, videos, audiobooks, test prep materials, and more.  This huge collection of resources can be accessed anywhere you've got an Internet connection.  When you're off campus, use your JSCC e-mail account or your library card number to log in. Don't have a library card? Sign up now! open library card application

Search for articles

Recommended databases

Journals by title

If you're looking for a certain periodical, you can search by journal or magazine title at the page linked above. Choose a database containing that title from the results list, then select a specific issue from the menu or use "Search within this publication." NC LIVE connects you to hundreds of full-text nursing and medical journals, including:

  • Nursing Standard
  • Journal of Nursing Management
  • Evidence-Based Nursing
  • Public Health Nursing
  • American Journal of Critical Care
  • Perspectives in Psychiatric Care
  • Birth

Remember!

Limit your search to full text results. When searching from the box on this page or the NC LIVE homepage, look for filter options on your results pages.

NC LIVE Summon search results Refine Your Search filter, including Full Text Online option (screencapture)
NC LIVE Summon results page

ProQuest search results Narrow Results By filter, including Full text included option (screencapture)
ProQuest results page

Within a specific database, you can opt for full text results before searching.

ProQuest search field with including Full text checkbox (screencapture)
Search box in ProQuest database

These ensure that you'll only find articles available in full (not just abstracts or citations).

Other journals

In print

The library has these nursing/allied health periodicals in print:

Find these shelved with the magazines. Lift the shelf for recent previous issues. Older issues are stored behind the reference desk. To find specific articles, search the indexes at the linked sites, note the date or issue you need, and ask a staff member to retrieve that issue for you.

Back issues only

Ask at the reference desk.

Online

All websites, articles, images, videos, etc., linked on this site are provided for informational purposes only. External content is not maintained by James Sprunt Community College, nor does it represent the views of the College or its employees. Please notify the library staff if you have concerns about linked content. Students are expected to evaluate all web and print resources and to determine their appropriate academic uses. A hyperlink to a resource or article from these LibGuides does not constitute an endorsement of that resource or article by the library.

Do you have any suggestions or comments about this website?

Fill out a feedback form to Let us know what you think.

Contact Us | Follow Us on Facebook (opens a new window) | Privacy Statement

James Sprunt Community College, P.O. Box 398, 133 James Sprunt Drive, Kenansville, NC 28349 | (910) 296-2400