Library: Nursing and Allied Health: Study Tools

Preparing for the NCLEX? Log onto BoardVitals to build and take practice tests, review detailed answer explanations, and identify areas where you need further study. Sign up with your JSCC e-mail address, then access your account from any computer or mobile device. To learn more, download the BoardVitals Quick Guide (PDF) or speak to a library staff member.

Board Vitals Registration Page

Online resources

STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
Study resources for nursing and allied health students. E-textbooks and test prep guides, medical dictionary, MedCalc 3000, podcasts, and links to medical databases via STAT!Ref. Anatomy.TV via STAT!Ref is a resource that provides 3D interactive videos, narrated animations, extensive anatomy and physiology content, common clinical conditions, case studies, and quizzes.
Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 3D interactive videos and narrated animations.

Anatomy

Exam prep

NCLEX Examinations
Information about NCLEX testing, registrations, locations, and more from the National Council of State Boards of Nursing.
Career Preparation
Practice tests for Nursing Assistant/Nurse Aide Certification, NCLEX-RN, NCLEX-PN. (Must create an account).
Testing and Education Reference Center
TEAS, PSB-RN, and PAX Practice tests, NCLEX-RN practice tests, NCLEX-PN practice tests. You must register for an account.

Reference materials

Salem Health Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias on infectious diseases, cancer, and alternative medicine, plus Magill's Medical Guide
Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 3D interactive videos and narrated animations.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health (2013)
Comprehensive encyclopedia of general health topics, medical conditions (including diagnosis, treatment, and prognosis), procedures, drugs, anatomy, and more.
Magill’s Medical Guide, 8th Edition
MedlinePlus Medical Dictionary
Includes audio pronunciations.
MeSH (Medical Subject Headings)
The National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus. Use it to find preferred and alternate terms to search article databases.
Understanding Medical Words
Interactive introduction to basic medical terminology. From the National Library of Medicine.

Tutorials, videos, & more

Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice
Tutorial provided by Duke University Medical Center Library and UNC Chapel Hill's Health Sciences Library.
Evaluating Health Websites
Tips from the National Network of Libraries of Medicine.
Khan Academy: Healthcare and Medicine
Video lectures about health and medicine topics.