Skip to main content Skip to guide navigation
Library Home | Classic Library Catalog | Databases A-Z | NC LIVE | Moodle | Student E-mail | James Sprunt Community College

Home Grown eBook Collection

Learn how to find e-books from the library to download or read online.

About Home Grown eBook Collection

NC LIVE's Home Grown eBook Collection makes over 1,200 e-books from North Carolina publishers available at any time for NC residents.

Collection highlights:

  • books on North Carolina history, culture, travel, and cuisine
  • popular fiction, memoirs, and other nonfiction
  • early childhood education titles (activities for children, professional development texts)

See sample nonfiction (see selected titles) and fiction (see selected titles) titles at the bottom of this page, or go to homepage to browse or search:

Home Grown eBooks are accessed on the BiblioBoard Library platform, which provides a browser-based reader and a free tablet app, plus the BiblioBoard core collection of literary classics and historical materials (which includes an additional 15,000 e-books).

FAQ: using Home Grown eBooks & BiblioBoard

Do I need my library card or a JSCC e-mail address?

Yes, unless you're on campus. For off-campus NC LIVE access, use either your JSCC e-mail or your library card number to log in.

Can I download books?

Yes, if you're using one of these tablets: iPad (iOS 7+), Kindle Fire HD, Nexus, or Galaxy Tab (Android 4.0+).

With a book open, tap the ellipsis (…) in the upper right corner, then select "Save to Offline Bookshelf." When browsing the collection, you can download books using the bookshelf icon: Books on shelf line drawing

Do I need an account?

To download books to your tablet, you'll need to set up a free BiblioBoard account. However, all books are available to read online (in your web browser) without an account.

Can I read a book in my web browser?

Yes, BiblioBoard supports most modern browsers.

I have another question!

Contact the library staff or see:

Handout

Books from Home Grown eBook Collection

Sample titles from the Home Grown eBook Collection

Nonfiction

Fiction

All websites, articles, images, videos, etc., linked on this site are provided for informational purposes only. External content is not maintained by James Sprunt Community College, nor does it represent the views of the College or its employees. Please notify the library staff if you have concerns about linked content. Students are expected to evaluate all web and print resources and to determine their appropriate academic uses. A hyperlink to a resource or article from these LibGuides does not constitute an endorsement of that resource or article by the library.

Do you have any suggestions or comments about this website?

Fill out a feedback form to Let us know what you think.

Contact Us | Follow Us on Facebook (opens a new window) | Privacy Statement

James Sprunt Community College, P.O. Box 398, 133 James Sprunt Drive, Kenansville, NC 28349 | (910) 296-2400