Skip to main content Skip to guide navigation

Search

Encyclopedias

Learn how to find e-books from the library to download or read online.

About encyclopedias

Getting started with a research topic? Need to double-check your facts? Want basic biographical information on a person? Use encyclopedias to find short introductory articles on people, places, events, or concepts. You must be online to use these databases (each of which contains several reference books), but individual articles can be printed or saved.

Credo encyclopedias & more

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Background information, biographies, dictionaries, and more reference tools to help you start your research.

Salem reference & primary sources

Salem Online This link opens in a new window
Specialized encyclopedias in history and health/medicine, primary source documents from U.S. history, and collected literary criticism.

Overview of Salem Press print and online resources

Gale encyclopedias

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Specialized encyclopedias on nursing, religion, science, food, and more.

All websites, articles, images, videos, etc., linked on this site are provided for informational purposes only. External content is not maintained by James Sprunt Community College, nor does it represent the views of the College or its employees. Please notify the library staff if you have concerns about linked content. Students are expected to evaluate all web and print resources and to determine their appropriate academic uses. A hyperlink to a resource or article from these LibGuides does not constitute an endorsement of that resource or article by the library.

Do you have any suggestions or comments about this website?

Fill out a feedback form to Let us know what you think.

James Sprunt Community College, P.O. Box 398, 133 James Sprunt Drive, Kenansville, NC 28349 | (910) 296-2400